HelioHost Posted January 17, 2018 Posted January 17, 2018 Username: N/A, Server: N/A, Main Domain: N/A Hello, Please forgive my ignorance but I was under the impression I'd purchasedsomething - perhaps, the dedicated IP? - which would protect my emaildeliveries from being affected by others mailing from Tommy. I am receivingthese, and similar messages, from a number of organizations I deal with. Can you please provide me any suggestions you have or resources I can referto? Thanks,Scott. -----Original Message-----From: Mail Delivery System [mailto:Mailer-Daemon@tommy.heliohost.org]Sent: 17-Jan-18 12:57 PMTo: scott.mchale@industryus.caSubject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender This message was created automatically by mail delivery software. A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of itsrecipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed: cpost@leduc.ca host mail.leduc.ca [139.142.33.163] SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:: 554-Service unavailable; Client host [tommy.heliohost.org] blocked using 554-Barracuda Reputation; 554 http://www.barracudanetworks.com/reputation/?r=1ipe.19.143.6
wolstech Posted January 17, 2018 Posted January 17, 2018 Another user donated yesterday to move to Tommy, then promptly sent several hundred phishing emails after moving there. I suspect this was the same user who got Johnny blocked too. That user has since been banned for phishing, so this should not get worse. Barracuda is the only list he managed to get Tommy blocked on: https://mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=mx%3aTommy.heliohost.org&run=toolpage# (Select Blacklist Check to see the results). One of our other root admins would know more about getting this unblocked for you. Posting on the forums may also get a faster result, since I cannot move Support Email threads to the Escalation bin.
Bailey Posted January 17, 2018 Posted January 17, 2018 Purchasing a dedecated IP would fix this. My domain is on Tommy but, due to my IP, I'm not on any blacklists: see for yourself Edit: Fixed my linkIs Tommy still blacklisted?
Krydos Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 All of Tommy's blacklistings are cleared up https://mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=blacklist%3a65.19.143.6&run=toolpage
HelioHost Posted January 18, 2018 Author Posted January 18, 2018 Thanks, I was under the impression I'd purchased a dedicated IP. My Tommy ServerInformation shows one but - again, pardon my ignorance - perhaps that isTommy's IP. Is there somewhere in the system to check my account and prior transactions?Alternatively, can you tell me where I need to go to purchase that dedicatedIP if I haven't already? Thanks, again,Scott. -----Original Message-----
wolstech Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 What IP is showing on your account? If it's 65.19.143.6, it means you do NOT have a dedicated IP. If you purchased a dedicated IP, you would have needed to post a transaction ID and your account's username on our forums so we could install it. The transaction would've been for $12 sent to admin@heliohost.org. If you can look up the transaction ID and send it to us again, we can definitely reinstall the dedicated IP for you. Alternately, please post your forum username and hosting username so I can search for the request. Finally, are you sure you're not confusing a dedicated IP purchase with a Tommy invite donation (which can be as little as $1)?
HelioHost Posted January 18, 2018 Author Posted January 18, 2018 It's very possible that I am mistaken. I note, though, that 66.220.18.188 is the IP shown under "dedicated IP" whenI choose "Server Information" from the right panel in my CPanel screen. My helionet forum name is IndustryUs and my hosting username is Industry. Please let me know if there's anything else you need. Thanks for the help. -----Original Message-----
wolstech Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 One more thing, a dedicated IP's primary purpose on our servers these days is to improve uptime in the following scenarios: * The server experiences a DoS attack or other form of sustained abuse and we intentionally disable the shared IP to mitigate the attack.* When phishing websites (not emails) are set up on our server by abusive users, and are not cleaned up fast enough. Our provider gives us 1 hour to remove phishing when it's reported. If we don't, the shared IP is taken offline until we see the report and do so. While we make every effort to avoid this, we're staffed by volunteers who are primarily in North America, so there's not always someone available, especially overnight. Email delivery may benefit from having one, but I personally haven't seen someone purchase one for this reason, so I'm unsure how well this works to avoid blacklists.
wolstech Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 You do indeed have a dedicated IP if you have a 66.220 address.
Krydos Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 Despite having a dedicated IP your account was still set to send mails from the main server IP 65.19.143.6. I thought that simply installing the dedicated IP would automatically change this, but apprently not. I have manually edited the configuration of your account and email should now come from your dedicated IP. If you could test this to make sure it's working that would be great. If you don't know how to check the headers you could also send a test email to support@heliohost.org and we can check the headers for you. Thanks for noticing that the dedicated IP wasn't functioning properly.
Bailey Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 @Krydos, can you do this for me aswell please and how do I access my FTP if the Tommy IP is down?
Krydos Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 I already set it up for all dedicated IPs on Tommy. You can access FTP by connecting to your dedicated IP directly as your FTP host (instead of tommy.heliohost.org).
HelioHost Posted January 18, 2018 Author Posted January 18, 2018 Thanks. Your help is greatly appreciated. I don't know what "checking the headers" means so, if you could look at thatas well, it is again greatly appreciated. Thanks,Scott. -----Original Message-----
IndustryUs Posted January 18, 2018 Posted January 18, 2018 My test email delivery to my primary account did not succeed. ************************host smtp.glb.shawcable.net [64.59.136.136] SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection: 554 mi05.dcs.int.inet cmsmtp Connection rejected. Reverse DNS for 66.220.18.188 does not exist. *********************** I'm guessing it's related to the dedicated IP change.
Recommended Posts