[Answered] Best practices in debugging flask/django and requesting python modules

mabass

Hi,

figured it's better to ask here before going straight to customer service. If I'm mistaken and both questions are better directed towards them let me know.

i'm currently trying to migrate my flask sandbox (intended to provide python scripts to others as simple web apps) to HelioHost and a few questions have cropped up.

Fyi, I'm decent enough in Python (though not a computer scientist by profession) but woefully inexperienced when it comes to server and web administration.

1. Is there a decent way to debug the online-version of flask without relying too heavily on the CRON-jobs?

Setting the debug-flag in app.run() to True does not seem to work, I assume it's globally disabled?

2. What's the proper way to request python modules? My flask app is currently missing at least one specific module to run properly.

Thanks!

PS:

The Flask-Tutorial on the wiki (https://wiki.helionet.org/tutorials/flask) has an erroneous ";" in the flask.wsgi code, line 4.

1. Is there a decent way to debug the online-version of flask without relying too heavily on the CRON-jobs?

Not really. Most of the log files are full of information from all of the users on the server, so we can't provide direct access due to the possibility that the logs contain private information from another user. There is the error log button in cpanel that you may not have seen yet. Sometimes it contains useful information, but most of the time an admin can get a more detailed error message. Cron jobs can usually do a pretty good job of emailing you the errors, but you can only use them twice a day so that limits the usefulness. If you want us to try to get you a better error message just post the URL to the flask app.

Setting the debug-flag in app.run() to True does not seem to work, I assume it's globally disabled?